Beta Zeta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa

Inductees into the Beta Zeta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at PJC, the two-year college honor society, gathered for a group shot prior to the induction ceremony.

The Beta Zeta chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at Paris Junior College held spring 2019 induction ceremonies in Paris, Sulphur Springs, and Greenville on March 4, 5, and 12. The two-year college honor society inducted nearly 120 students this semester.

PTK offers students opportunities to develop qualities of scholarship, leadership, fellowship, and service. To be eligible, students must have a grade point average of 3.5. They also may become eligible for transfer scholarships.

Inductees light a candle of light and learning and sign the official membership book as part of the ceremony. Many family and friends attended the ceremonies to help celebrate students’ academic achievement.

Newly inducted students from Texas:

Kingston, Okla.: Alivia McCuan.

Anderson: Joshua Mancuso.

Avery: Erica Milligan.

Bagwell: Cody Murphy.

Blossom: Trynity Chapman and Christian Smallwood.

Bonham: Rachael Eubank.

Brashear: Jaclyn Kreager.

Brownwood: Garrin Fraze.

Caddo Mills: Emily Ash and Correnda Gray.

Campbell: Ellie White.

Carrollton: Brianna Gibbons.

Center: Mildred Medina-Farias.

Clarksville: Thia Lee-Buell.

College Station: Wilson Roubion.

Colmesneil: McKayla Marshall.

Commerce: Austin Driver and Kris Garland.

Cumby: Jorja Bessonett.

Dallas: Wanda Nneji.

Deport: Jacob Holt and Makenzie McGill.

Desoto: Matthew Castaneda.

Dike: Ryan Vance.

Emory: Cheyenne Davis, Charles French and Luke Spoor.

Forney: Rachel Hennen and Kyle Hogwood.

Fort Worth: Julian Martinez.

Giddings: Shelby Becker.

Greenville: Stefany Calderon, Rosalba Castillo, Aline Chavez, Kadeem Johnson, Minerva Mendoza Ojeda, Matthew Phillips, Antonio Rioz, Victoria Summers, Cruz Ugalde, Luis Ugalde and Emma Winters.

Jacksonville: Abbie Clevenger.

Josephine: Rowdie Adams and Klarissa Warner

Lewisville: Octavia Harris.

Lone Oak: Levi Smith.

Mount Pleasant: Breanne Smallwood.

Mount Vernon: Noah Andress.

North Richland Hills: Christian Hernandez.

Paris: Alison Abston, Alexis Brown, Samantha Crosby, Andrew Dollins, Stephen Edzards, Ellyanna Galvan, Alexandra Garcia, Kaydee Hauerwas, Heather Hawkes, Michayla Hawkes, Katrina Hellmann, Alissa Hutto, Joseph Kelsay, Stephanie Lahman, Dean Newnham, Steven Perry, Cortlyn Polley, Ben Ruthart, Fiona Schepis, Talyah Tolber, Aliza Tucker and Mallory Wood.

Pickton: Cody Raleigh.

Point: Makayla Bass and Michael Butler.

Quinlan: Evelyn Coffman, Emmaline Fulton, Gage Gilbert, Kamie Lee, Jess Morris and Rachel Ruffin

Reno: Mary Chaix, Kylie Jackson, Jaycie Proctor and Megan Sanders

Rosharon: Paul Kindervater.

Royse City: Devon Brawner, Lori Crawford, Matthew Grugel, Thomas Morin and Araceli Solis.

Sour Lake: Caleb Dubois.

Stephenville: Ian Groves.

Sulphur Springs: Rene Aguilar, Chase Crouch, Paiten Daniel, Kate Flores, Justice Floyd, Jaci Glenn, Emma Hampton, Beverly Luna, Jonathan Plumlee, Miracle Ramon and Kamryn Wimberley.

Sumner: McKenzy Crabb and Sara Strouse.

Terrell: Makayla Walters.

Waxahachie: Raymond Kennedy.

West Tawakoni: Pathik Bhakta.

Wolfe City: Danielle Peterson and Chance Watson.

Yantis: Lanie Smith.

PTK inductees from out of state included:

Hot Springs, Ark.: Catherine Scales.

Antlers, Okla.: Richadeena McClain.

Hugo, Okla.: Mary James, Caitlin Vanworth and Heather Villar.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.