The Paris News logo

Municipal leaders are not alone in getting ready for the May 4 election — so are local school boards. 

With the exception of Chisum and Roxton ISDs, which will put their consolidation agreement to voters in May, school board candidates have until Feb. 15 to file for a spot on the ballot. Roxton’s school board will dissolve when the consolidation with Chisum is complete. Per their agreement, Chisum’s school board will remain in place through 2022 to see through their previously approved $26.94 million bond, which includes paying for additions to Chisum ISD campuses, such as a 600-seat fine arts building, a vocational/agriculture addition at the high school, more classrooms at both the junior high and elementary schools and a multi-purpose indoor facility and community center. 

According to the Texas Association of School Boards, candidates eligible to run must be a United States citizen, 18-years of age or older, be a resident in the state of Texas for the past 12 months, be a member of the district seat available, be a qualified voter and have no convicted felonies.  

Applications to file for candidacy are available at each district’s administration office. Terms are for three years. District offices will be closed on Monday for the Martin Luther King Jr. holiday.

Early voting will begin April 22 and end April 30.

Paris ISD: Two seats are up for election in Paris ISD. They are Terry Davis’ Place 3 seat and Bert Strom’s Place 7 seat. Both are eligible for another term. Election day voting will take place at the Lamar County Courthouse Annex, 231 Lamar Ave. in Paris.

North Lamar ISD: The school board seats of Kyle Coston, Rickey Richardson and Tim Stone are up for election in North Lamar ISD. All are eligible for another term. Election day voting will take place at North Lamar ISD Administration Building, 3201 Lewis Lane, in Paris.

Prairiland ISD: The Place 1 and Place 2 Prairiland ISD trustees seats, currently held by Dustin Nation and James Freelan, respectively, are up for election. 

Election day voting will take place at Blossom City Hall, 1240 West Front St., in Blossom and Deport City Hall, 201 Main St., in Deport from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Honey Grove ISD: Election day voting for Honey Grove ISD will take place at the Voyer Learning Center, 540 N. 6th St., in Honey Grove. Trustees Sheila Reece, Richard Harper and Kyle Braley are up for re-election.

Detroit ISD: The two seats up for election in Detroit ISD are currently held by Doug Miller and Frances Fletcher. 

Election day voting will take place at the school’s cafeteria, 110 E. Garner St., in Detroit.

Rivercrest ISD: The Place 2 and Place 5 seats, held by Ryan Case and Brandon Williams, respectively, on the Rivercrest ISD Board of Trustees are up for election this year. 

Through Thursday afternoon, no one had yet registered to run for election. 

Day of voting will take place at Bogata Special Events and Community Center, 206 2nd St. NW, in Bogata, or Toco City Hall.

Clarksville ISD: The Clarksville ISD Board of Trustee seats for John McPeters and Lanetta Roberts are up for election. Both are up for re-election, but as of this morning, no one had filed. Election day voting will be available at First Baptist Church, FM 44 South, in Annona and at Clarksville City Hall, 800 W. Main St., in Clarksville.

Cooper ISD: Up for re-election in Cooper ISD are Craig Slakey, Mary Freeman and Lea Waller. By this morning, no one had yet filed for the seats. Election day voting will take place at City Hall, 91 North Side Square, in Cooper.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.